Municipality of the City of Budapest

Főváros Önkormányzata

Municipality of the City of Budapest (Budapest Főváros Önkormányzata) is a public body, representing Budapest which is the capital and the largest city of Hungary. Budapest is the country’s principal political, cultural, commercial, industrial, and transportation centre. The city covers an area of 525 square km and is home to 1,736 million people. The city is situated along the Danube, in the heart of the Carpathian basin.

Budapest consists of twenty-three districts. The Hungarian capital city has a particular dual self-government system. This means that in addition to the Budapest Municipality, the local government of Budapest, each of the twenty-three districts have their own government, the so-called district governments, with elected mayors and a body of representatives. Both the City and the Districts are local governments, not subordinated to one another, each having specific duties and powers, specified by law.

Role in the project

The Unit for Project Management is responsible for the preparation and implementation of EU (co)funded projects, and working together with the relevant departments, municipal institutions, companies.

The Department for Urban Planning is responsible for planning activities, especially for strategy development (midterm, long term concepts) and providing expertise and support to other urban development activities.

In the frame of this project, the Municipality of Budapest – as a fellow city – is planning to launch a Positive Energy District development plan. In accordance with future development programs, Budapest works on restoring desolate areas and community involvement.


Kinga Lőcsei-Tóth

Project Coordinator for Budapest